xsonas

Portfolio Marketing - Communication

xsonas

Project information

Project: xsonas
Client: Internal project
Industry: Marketing - Communication
Company: Plan.net Pulse
Location: Munich
Date: August - October 2021

From my experience on several projects within my company, I realised that when we were using Personas we didn't have any pre-built templates. Each one did the representation of personas as they could: there were teams that prepared Excel files, others delivered PowerPoints and, in the best case, the outcome was a PDF file.

That is only regarding the format, but when we went to the content, things were even worse. The results delivered were totally disparate and there was no way to find a certain consistency.

From there, I set myself a personal challenge: to be able to present Personas in a consistent way, that would be easy to share but at the same time secure and that would also be easy to print, since in many workshops we needed to print personas in large format. If it could also be viewed with quality on mobile devices, then it would be perfect.

This is how xsonas was born.

Based on the premises described above, I began to see that the product had to go through a web app. A system that would allow homogenizing data and displaying it in a consistent way but that would also allow a minimum of flexibility to be able to adapt, for example, customer branding.

From several personas created for different projects, I tried to create a basic structure that would allow hosting such data. With this I transported a basic Persona to a web interface.

The product evolved through several iterations until it reached its current state: implementation of Customer Journeys.

The next thing was to see how I could transform the existing data into a container that would allow me to be flexible enough in the future. That way I transformed the existing information into a JSON object. From that point on I had information contained in JSON and a PHP display that allowed me the flexibility to add new content.

Desktop version
Desktop version

That was the first MVP: JSON data displayed using PHP.

After presenting the first MVP to Plan.net Pulse management, the project was really well received and I continued its iteration. The next step was to create an administration interface that would allow me to modify the JSON objects in a totally visual way...

Related content

Pixel Imperfect

I had been wanting to create a new personal project for a long time: complete freedom to do whatever I wanted in terms of design but I also wanted to program something new.

I had just created a Flat File CMS. Very similar, by the way, to the one you are seeing right now. The interface was capable of creating and managing data blocks, rich text blocks using CKEditor and even the ability to select icons using an Icon-Picker.

Mobile view
Mobile view
Customer Journey
Customer Journey

From there, the product evolved through several iterations until it reached its current state: implementation of Customer Journeys. It was logical. The system has reached the point of being able to generate customer journeys based on personas. This is extremely interesting in product definition phases, since in this way we can go from the qualitative information of our user to the generation of specific solutions based on the needs and opportunities observed in personas.

You can see a demo of how xsonas works on its website. If you are interested in using xsonas in your projects or just want more information, you can contact Helen Birke.

My specific tasks in the project

  • Conception of the structure.
  • Taxonomy of all content
  • UI interface design
  • Front-end programming of the app
  • Back-End programming via flat file system
  • xsonas brand design

xsonas

Portfolio Marketing - Kommunikation

xsonas

Projekt Information

Projekt: xsonas
Kunde: Internal project
Industriebereich: Marketing - Kommunikation
Firma: Plan.net Pulse
Ort: München
Datum: August - Oktober 2021

Aus meiner Erfahrung mit verschiedenen Projekten in meinem Unternehmen wurde mir klar, dass wir bei der Verwendung von Personas keine vorgefertigten Vorlagen hatten. Jeder machte die Darstellung von Personas, wie er konnte: Es gab Teams, die Excel-Dateien vorbereiteten, andere lieferten PowerPoints und im besten Fall wurde ein PDF erstellt.

Das betrifft nur das Format, aber als wir zum Inhalt kamen, war es noch schlimmer. Die gelieferten Ergebnisse waren völlig unterschiedlich und es gab keine Möglichkeit, eine gewisse Konsistenz zu finden.

Von da an stellte ich mir eine persönliche Herausforderung: Personas konsistent präsentieren zu können, die einfach zu teilen, aber gleichzeitig sicher wäre und die auch einfach zu drucken wäre, da wir das in vielen Workshops mussten Personas im Großformat drucken. Wenn es auch auf Mobilgeräten in guter Qualität angesehen werden könnte, dann wäre es perfekt.

So wurde xsonas geboren.

Basierend auf den oben beschriebenen Prämissen begann ich zu sehen, dass das Produkt eine Web-App durchlaufen musste. Ein System, das es ermöglicht, Daten zu homogenisieren und konsistent darzustellen, aber auch ein Minimum an Flexibilität zulässt, um beispielsweise das Branding der Kunden anpassen zu können.

Aus mehreren Personas, die für verschiedene Projekte erstellt wurden, habe ich versucht, eine Grundstruktur zu erstellen, die das Hosten solcher Daten ermöglichen würde. Damit habe ich eine einfache Persona auf ein Webinterface transportiert.

Das Produkt entwickelte sich durch verschiedene Iterationen, bis es seinen aktuellen Stand erreichte: die Implementierung von Customer Journeys.

Als nächstes ging es darum, zu sehen, wie ich die vorhandenen Daten in einen Container umwandeln könnte, der es mir ermöglicht, in Zukunft flexibel genug zu sein. Auf diese Weise habe ich die vorhandenen Informationen in ein JSON-Objekt umgewandelt. Von diesem Zeitpunkt an hatte ich Informationen in JSON und eine PHP-Anzeige, die mir die Flexibilität gab, neue Inhalte hinzuzufügen.

Desktop Version
Desktop Version

Das war das erste MVP: JSON-Daten, die mit PHP angezeigt wurden.

Nachdem ich dem Management von Plan.net Pulse das erste MVP vorgestellt hatte, wurde das Projekt wirklich gut aufgenommen und ich setzte seine Iteration fort. Der nächste Schritt bestand darin, eine Verwaltungsschnittstelle zu erstellen, mit der ich die JSON-Objekte vollständig visuell ändern kann ...

Verwandte Inhalte

Pixel Imperfect

Ich hatte schon lange Lust, ein neues persönliches Projekt zu erstellen: vollständige Freiheit, alles zu gestalten, was ich wollte, aber ich hatte auch Lust, etwas Neues zu programmieren.

Ich hatte gerade ein Flat File CMS erstellt. Sehr ähnlich übrigens dem, den Sie gerade sehen. Die Schnittstelle war in der Lage, Datenblöcke, Rich-Text-Blöcke mit CKEditor zu erstellen und zu verwalten und sogar Symbole mit einem Icon-Picker auszuwählen.

Mobile View
Mobile View
Customer Journey
Customer Journey

Von da an entwickelte sich das Produkt durch verschiedene Iterationen, bis es seinen aktuellen Stand erreichte: die Implementierung von Customer Journeys. Es war logisch. Das System hat den Punkt erreicht, an dem Customer Journeys auf Basis von Personas generiert werden können. Dies ist in den Phasen der Produktdefinition äußerst interessant, da wir auf diese Weise von den qualitativen Informationen unserer Benutzer zur Generierung spezifischer Lösungen auf der Grundlage der bei Personas beobachteten Bedürfnisse und Möglichkeiten gelangen können.

Auf der Website von xsonas können Sie sich eine Demo ansehen, wie xsonas funktioniert. Wenn Sie daran interessiert sind, xsonas in Ihren Projekten zu verwenden oder einfach weitere Informationen wünschen, können Sie Helen Birke kontaktieren.

Meine konkreten Aufgaben im Projekt

  • Konzeption der Struktur.
  • Taxonomie aller Inhalte
  • UI-Schnittstellendesign
  • Frontend-Programmierung der App
  • Back- End Programmierung über Flatfilesystem
  • xsonas Markendesign